contador web Skip to content

Review: Galaxy S10 +, by an Apple User

per Luciano Flehr

Luciano Flehr BodyTalk therapist and passionate about technologies. Reader and employer of he attended the on Air # 315, in which he commented on the newly released Galaxy S10 + and promised to write us a little about the transition from an iPhone to Samsung's current flagship.

My history

I have been a user of Apple products since 2012, when the company launched the iPhone 5. Since then, I fell in love with the brand and was buying the necessary devices in my day to day (MacBook, iPad, AirPort and others).

My whole digital life was integrated into the Apple line, and this integration of Apple's ecosystem helps me a lot at work (I'm a therapist) with issues involving calendar, calendar, GarageBand and other apps I use like GoodNotes (app I use with my iPad). Pro + Apple Pencil to write information for my customers).

Apple charmed me for a long time, until I began to realize that the iPhone was falling behind in some ways, leaving us without access to possibilities that other companies were implementing. This, of course, not to mention the absurd prices practiced here in Brazil.

No one ever brought a device from abroad (at fairer prices) to me, so I always had to buy my products here. This happened until the iPhone 7 Plus, my last Apple smartphone.

I hoped for news that, to my frustration, didn't come with the duo XS and XS Max. That's how my eyes turned to the Samsung Galaxy S10 + and I literally paid to see it. I was very reluctant because I would have to make a big transition from apps (many of them are available for iOS, so I would have to opt for new options on Android). Also, I've always heard that Google's mobile operating system crashed, wasn't safe, among other things that made me worried.

I went to research all this and saw that the scenario is not so bad at the moment. Not to mention, of course, that the news of the Galaxy S10 + (in my opinion, of course) ended up leaving the iPhone "slippery" among them I list the super slow camera, camera stabilization, night photos (which are sooo much better), fast charging, 4.100mAh battery (all day long), etc.

Well, let's get to what many are expecting: how this is my first month and a half using the Galaxy S10 +.

The transition

<img data-attachment-id = "665340" data-permalink = "https://.uol/post/2019/05/12/review-galaxy-s10-eng-us-usuario-apple/ 10-samsung-s10-plus-2 / "data-orig-file =" https://.uol/wp-content/uploads/2019/05/10-samsung-s10-plus-2. jpg "data-orig-size =" 3000,2000 "data-comments-opened =" 1 "data-image-meta =" {"aperture": "0", "credit": "", "camera": " "," caption ":" "," created_timestamp ":" 0 "," copyright ":" "," focal_length ":" 0 "," iso ":" 0 "," shutter_speed ":" 0 "," title ":" "," orientation ":" 0 "}" data-image-title = "Samsung Galaxy S10 +" data-image-description = "

Image: https://www.shutterstock/image-photo/jakarta-indonesia-march-21-2019-opened-1347449633

"data-medium-file =" https://.uol/wp-content/uploads/2019/05/10-samsung-s10-plus-2-600×400.jpg "data-large-file = "https://.uol/wp-content/uploads/2019/05/10-samsung-s10-plus-2-1260×840.jpg" src = "https://.uol. wp-content / uploads / 2019/05/10-samsung-s10-plus-2.jpg "alt =" Samsung Galaxy S10 + "width =" 3000 "height =" 2000 "class =" size-full wp-image -665340 "srcset =" https://.uol/wp-content/uploads/2019/05/10-samsung-s10-plus-2.jpg 3000w, https://.uol / wp-content / uploads / 2019/05/10-samsung-s10-plus-2-300×200.jpg 300w, https://.uol/wp-content/uploads/2019/05/ 10-samsung-s10-plus-2-600×400.jpg 600w, https://.uol/wp-content/uploads/2019/05/10-samsung-s10-plus-2-1260×840.jpg 1260w "sizes =" (max-width: 3000px) 100vw, 3000px "/> Creativa Images / Shutterstock

When I received the device and saw it for the first time, I thought it was very well done. It came with a film to preserve the screen, which I think is important because of the ultrasonic biometric sensor. In the box, in addition, we have the charger, the cable and a USB-A to USB-C adapter.

I went to the transition and already came across the first problem: as my iPhone was with the encrypted data, I had to reset the device (factory settings) in order to reset the code because I could not remember what it was. Only with that, I lost an hour and a little.

With this issue resolved, I went to the second step. Since I had a lot on iPhone, it took me about two hours to transfer his backup to the S10 +. The Samsung Smart Switch app is very simple and does its thing.

In this data transition, I have one caveat: I lost my iPhone WhatsApp Messenger backups because they are platform specific (iOS vs. Android), that is, are not compatible we agree, a huge nonsense.

Phone properly ready, time to download the apps. And this time, the first plus point: I wiped my apps. There were apps on my iPhone that I rarely used. So, I took the opportunity to download only the main ones, the ones that I really use and that are part of my daily life. This, however, caused me a little frustration because of two absences: the Calendars 5 (Readdle) and Due (Due Apps) apps do not have Android versions, a great pity.

Usability

Very accustomed and totally adapted to iOS, I ventured into Android. And here, a good surprise because it is very simple to configure. Some details of the settings I had to go to, but I managed to learn a good.

The device is fast even with the Exynos processor. I found the placement of apps on the screen very quiet, and a detail that I liked about Android that when you download an app, it is a hidden folder; just tap from bottom to top and it appears; a, you can put the app on the deck.

The alarm of the device, for example, I found very good and even more practical than that of iOS.

One thing I really miss from my experience on iOS is that I criticize a lot on Android, however, are the notifications. Believe me, they are much better on the iPhone. On Android they keep coming together, forming a bunch of icons that only come out if you delete them all at once or one by one.

Another thing I noticed is that app info icons are flawed or nonexistent. It may be a result of my lack of knowledge of the system, but what I know that WhatsApp, for example, does not show how many messages I have; Any.do doesn't already show the number of tasks I have to do. There may even be a way to fix this, but I still can't enable it as it exists on iOS.

The camera

<img data-attachment-id = "665345" data-permalink = "https://.uol/post/2019/05/12/review-galaxy-s10-eng-us-usuario-apple/ 10-samsung-s10-plus-5 / "data-orig-file =" https://.uol/wp-content/uploads/2019/05/10-samsung-s10-plus-5. jpg "data-orig-size =" 3000,2000 "data-comments-opened =" 1 "data-image-meta =" {"aperture": "0", "credit": "", "camera": " "," caption ":" "," created_timestamp ":" 0 "," copyright ":" "," focal_length ":" 0 "," iso ":" 0 "," shutter_speed ":" 0 "," title ":" "," orientation ":" 0 "}" data-image-title = "Samsung Galaxy S10 +" data-image-description = "

Image: https://www.shutterstock/image-photo/bangkok-thailand-samsung-launch-new-galaxy-1332188480

"data-medium-file =" https://.uol/wp-content/uploads/2019/05/10-samsung-s10-plus-5-600×400.jpg "data-large-file = "https://.uol/wp-content/uploads/2019/05/10-samsung-s10-plus-5-1260×840.jpg" src = "https://.uol. wp-content / uploads / 2019/05/10-samsung-s10-plus-5.jpg "alt =" Samsung Galaxy S10 + "width =" 3000 "height =" 2000 "class =" size-full wp-image -665345 "srcset =" https://.uol/wp-content/uploads/2019/05/10-samsung-s10-plus-5.jpg 3000w, https://.uol / wp-content / uploads / 2019/05/10-samsung-s10-plus-5-300×200.jpg 300w, https://.uol/wp-content/uploads/2019/05/ 10-samsung-s10-plus-5-600×400.jpg 600w, https://.uol/wp-content/uploads/2019/05/10-samsung-s10-plus-5-1260×840.jpg 1260w "sizes =" (max-width: 3000px) 100vw, 3000px "/> Framesira / Shutterstock

Here the device shines too bright. In my opinion, give 100 to 0 on the iPhone and look I thought the iPhone camera very good. But I need to make a disclaimer which, I imagine, should weigh heavily in this assessment. As I mentioned above, my last iPhone was a 7 Plus, and as good as his camera is, the fact that the XS / XS Max (the current competitors of the S10 +) camera is far superior. Drawing a parallel, as if I were comparing the camera of the S8 + with that of the S10 + (and, undoubtedly, there is also a big difference here).

But the camera, yes, is fantastic. Photos in the dark are surreal for good; the ultra camera wide It's particularly spectacular, and the camera app is also very efficient wonder why Apple doesn't do it for its users.

Ultrasonic sensor

Here, Apple wins clean. Nice S10 + sensor, but I need to position my finger a few times or with the right pressure so that everything works at least with my finger like that. I didn't even enable the face sensor because I read that it is quite insecure.

Undoubtedly, the ultrasonic sensor can still improve a lot.

Charging and battery

Samsung Galaxy S10 +

At these points, Samsung was also happier. I charge my entire cell phone from 20% to 100% in one hour; In just half an hour, it is already at 60% battery.

In the early days of use I got the phone without charging to see what the battery life would be like. I woke up at 4am to work and, at 8pm, the battery was still at 40%. Why can't the iPhone be like that too ?!

Another thing worth noting that I have never felt the device heat up absurdly, not even recharging or playing.

Negative points

This everyone is bald to know, but let's go: the operating system gets few updates. I'm used to iOS, which occasionally gets an update to fix something. At Samsung, not so. And that ends up perpetuating bugs.

There is one, for example, in the screen sensor. When the device is in my pocket, I turn and move, listening as if someone is "typing" it does not turn on the screen, but it bothers.

The other day, the flashlight suddenly flashed in my pocket. But it doesn't always happen I still couldn't identify the scenario that makes it happen.

Already this negative point that I will comment on the device itself, but the service of Samsung. I called their customer service because I bought the S10 + and in theory should have won a freebie. Well, until today I didn't get this toast. When I went to complain about it, they told me it could take up to 60 days for me to receive it obviously, I found it all very bad, even because this information (that the gift would be sent after receiving the S10 + or something) was not available on the site when I made the purchase.

I also went to some Samsung stores to buy covers and a charger. A, unavoidable comparison with Apple: It seems that they are doing us a "favor" by serving us. Poor service, zero care and no empathy with the customer. In this regard, Apple gives 1,000 to 0.

Conclusion

I have been very fond of the S10 + and, every day, it gets me more. Aside from some apps that don't have compatibility with the Android system and this is my problem with notifications, I have to confess that sometimes I don't even remember the iPhone.

Sometimes, though, I wanted to have an iPhone because of its integration with my Mac, my iPad, and of course Apple Watch. But having gone the other way, Apple is going to have to come up with something very good this year to get me back to orchard those crumbs that it gives us, unfortunately, are no longer enough.

I have a cell phone that could be from Apple. In fact, that could be improved by them, but the impression I have that has settled down and are relying only on the name, on the built fame. I hope Ma can excel and realize that what matters most is customers and their yearnings.


<img data-attachment-id = "657225" data-permalink = "https://.uol.br/post/2019/02/20/samsung-apresenta-o-galaxy-s10-e-suas- variants / 20-galaxy-s10plus-2 / "data-orig-file =" https://.uol/wp-content/uploads/2019/02/20-galaxy-s10plus-2.jpg " data-orig-size = "582,1222" data-comments-opened = "1" data-image-meta = "{" aperture ":" 0 "," credit ":" "," camera ":" ", "caption": "", "created_timestamp": "0", "copyright": "", "focal_length": "0", "iso": "0", "shutter_speed": "0", "title": "", "orientation": "0"} "data-image-title =" Samsung Galaxy S10 + "data-image-description ="

Official Image: https://news.samsung/us/samsung-galaxy-s10-more-screen-cameras-unpacked-2019/

"data-medium-file =" https://.uol/wp-content/uploads/2019/02/20-galaxy-s10plus-2-286×600.jpg "data-large-file =" https : //.uol/wp-content/uploads/2019/02/20-galaxy-s10plus-2.jpg "src =" https://.uol/wp-content/ uploads / 2019/02/20-galaxy-s10plus-2-143×300.jpg "alt =" Samsung Galaxy S10 + "width =" 143 "height =" 300 "class =" alignnone size-thumbnail wp-image-657225 "srcset = "https://.uol.br/wp-content/uploads/2019/02/20-galaxy-s10plus-2-143×300.jpg 143w, https://.uol.br/wp- content / uploads / 2019/02/20-galaxy-s10plus-2-286×600.jpg 286w, https://.uol/wp-content/uploads/2019/02/20-galaxy-s10plus-2 .jpg 582w "sizes =" (max-width: 143px) 100vw, 143px "/>

Samsung Galaxy S10 +

in Samsung

Price: Starting at R $ 4,398.36Installment Price: in at 12x of R $ 458,25Colors: white, black (ceramic) or blueCapabilities: 128GB, 512GB or 1TBRelease: February 2019

Boto - Buy Now