In mid-February, the beta version of WhatsApp Messenger has gained a much-anticipated news from users: the possibility of refusing entry to a group. Today, many months later, this feature is starting to be quietly / remotely released to all users, as the company reported.
To get the news, I need to be running the latest version of the app (2.19.112). Then just go on Settings Account Privacy Groups. There you will find three options, which work as follows:
- All: basically how everything works today; You can be added to a group by anyone.
- My contacts: You will be added directly to any group if the administrator is properly registered in your calendar; If it is not, you will receive an invitation.
- My contacts except: In this option, you have additional control over who among your contacts can add you to groups. In such cases, the administrator who cannot add you to a group will have the option to send a private invitation for an individual conversation, and you can choose whether or not to join the group. You will have three days (72 hours) to accept the invitation before it expires.
That way Facebook believes users will have more control over the group messages they receive. After all, the decision to join or not a particular group is now yours.
Remembering that these new options are different from joining a group by a link something that is still available regardless of the privacy settings you choose.
Some users will already see these new privacy settings starting today and they will be available in the coming days for everyone using the latest version of WhatsApp.