contador web Skip to content

Now in Brazil: iOS Notification Center tells you the time until you reach your next destination [atualizado]

Available in the United States for a long time, the “Next Destination” resource seems to have finally arrived in Brazil. It works in a similar way to Google Now, that is, it takes into account the times of your travels and shows in the Notification Center the estimated time for you to reach that particular location.

Resource

If you usually leave the house to go to work every day at 8 am, for example, just open the Notification Center ("Today" tab) to find out how long it will take you to arrive. The same thing happens when leaving work (it shows how long it must take you to get home).

As I said, the cool thing about the resource is that it does not take into account only the addresses you have registered with your contact (address of your home and work). If you always eat at a restaurant a little away from your work, for example, this information is stored in the system thanks to the “Frequent Locations” feature. So, before leaving for lunch, just take a look at the Notification Center and she will let you know how long this trip will take.

For the “Next Destination” feature to work fully then, you need to do three things:

  • Have your home or work address registered with your contact;
  • Activate the “Frequent Locations” feature (in Privacy Settings Serv. System Services Location);
  • Activate the “Next Destination” feature (in Settings Central Notification).

Cool, huh? Obviously, if you are a privacy-conscious person, Apple recently reported that frequent locations are only stored on the customer's iOS device and are not copied to iTunes or iCloud in addition, they are encrypted. The company is not on guard and does not know the user's frequent locations. Still, if you are concerned, you can choose to leave all of these features turned off.

(required to all who sent us this tip!)

Update, by Rafael Fischmann · 09/05/2014 s 10:28

The reader Rodrigo Rodrigues He informed us that the feature was gone from his iPhone and, in fact, after restarting the newsroom's iPhones, we noticed the fact.

In contact with Apple Brazil, The MacMagazine confirmed that the function was “temporarily disabled and that it should be back soon”. She did not give us an accurate forecast, however.