AppTuts.com.br – Aplicativos Android, iPhone, iPad, Mac OSX e Windows

How to use Instagram's restrict and what it's for

Recently, Instagram has made even more efforts to help users who end up having problems with people on the social network. Now, in addition to blocking and muting some, you can use Instagram's restrict option. As the name makes clear, it serves to give certain restrictions to what some users can do on their profile.

If you're curious about more of Instagram's restrict and how to use it, just check out our tips. You will find them in detail in the tutorial below!

What is the Instagram restriction mode?

As we mentioned, Instagram's restrict option serves to set limits on how other users interact with you on the social network. This is a great alternative to not having to block some, but also having to endure both a certain user on your profile.

what restrict you from instagram

Unlike locking, the restriction mode does not cause you and the other user to stop following or prevent you from seeing each other's profiles. In this case, the restricted person does not even know that you have taken this action, as he will be able to do everything normally while only you will not be bothered anymore.

For the avoidance of doubt, below is a list of what a restricted user may or may not do.

  • You can leave comments on your profile, but only you will see them. This will not generate a notification. You have the option to approve (for others to see), delete or just ignore the comment.
  • You can view your stories and be listed in the viewing history.
  • You can see your new photos just as you see the person's recent photos in your feed.
  • You can send direct messages, but they will appear in the "Requests" tab and will not send you a notification.
  • You may like your photos, but there will be no notification to let you know.

Basically, it's a way to avoid discomfort with people who often leave nasty comments or send unsolicited messages. You can even combine this with the option to “mute” the person's Instagram profile so you won't see new stories and photos in your feed.

But if you're curious about how to use this new tool, just follow our tips below.

How to use Instagram Restrict

Since this feature is very recent, it is understandable that it is not available to everyone yet. Other than that, she's still being tested, so her release gets even slower.

In this case, it is quite possible that Android users, in particular, have a hard time finding this option on their Instagram for a while, unfortunately.

Still, we suggest that you upgrade your app and make sure Instagram's restrict option doesn't appear there. IOS users will be a little luckier, as news is being distributed more evenly around there.

Anyway, to use the news, open Instagram and find the profile of the person you want to restrict. Then click on the three vertical dots at the top right of the screen. As we marked in the image below:

instagram new option

This opens a small menu, which usually lets you lock, mute or even report the account in question. The new option to restrict should be there, then click on it.

restrict from instagram options

Instagram itself will show a little text talking about what the restriction option does to this person's account. a summary similar to what we informed you earlier. Just put in “Restrict account” (or “Restrict Account”) to proceed.

restrict account on instagram

Okay, now just go back to your normal use of Instagram that this person will not bother you so easy. At least not in a way that you can understand without really going after new comments, likes or messages.

You can, of course, reverse this decision at any time. There are two easy ways to do this, really. D s to go back to the person's profile, click on the three points and select the button to remove the restriction, for example.

Another method is to go to your own profile settings, select the privacy option and click on “restricted accounts”.

instagram restricted accounts

There you have a list of everyone you have restricted and you can undo that action with a single button. It's very simple for you to do what makes you most comfortable and whenever you want.

As we mentioned before, you will never know that you have been restricted, which can make you even freer to make that decision. And remember that the news is still being tested and can be improved until it is officially released to everyone.

Could you use Instagram's restrict?

Could you take our tips to learn more and use Instagram's restrict option? Be sure to leave your comment telling us what you think of the tutorial or if you have any questions.