How to access and disable the secret Facebook Stories archive | Social networks

How to access and disable the secret Facebook Stories archive | Social networks

Facebook now saves the photos and videos published in the story to a file. Before, the content was deleted from the social network forever after 24 hours. With the change, the images are kept in a private place and can be accessed by the user at any time. Behavior similar to what happens in Instagram Stories.

In the following tips, learn how to access the "secret" file with your Facebook stories. Finally, see how to recover an old photo or delete it permanently. Also, check out how to disable the automatic archiving of your stories. The procedure is the same on the iPhone (iOS) and Android devices.

Learn how to access and use the Facebook story archive Photo: Helito Bijora / dnetcLearn how to access and use the Facebook story archive Photo: Helito Bijora / dnetc

Learn how to access and use the Facebook story archive Photo: Helito Bijora / dnetc

How to share Instagram Stories on Facebook

Step 1. To see your old stories, go to the Facebook main screen and tap "Your archived items". Your old stories will be shown in chronological order.

Accessing story archive Photo: Reproduo / Helito BijoraAccessing story archive Photo: Reproduo / Helito Bijora

Accessing story archive Photo: Reproduo / Helito Bijora

Step 2. You can save or delete a story permanently. To do this, open the photo or video and tap on the "…" button in the upper right corner. Then choose whether you want to save the photo to your phone's gallery or delete it.

Saving or deleting archived history Photo: Reproduo / Helito BijoraSaving or deleting archived history Photo: Reproduo / Helito Bijora

Saving or deleting archived history Photo: Reproduo / Helito Bijora

Step 3. Touching "Share", in the bottom right corner of the screen, you can open the story editor. Then, you can send it to a friend or republish the image in your story.

Republishing photo in history Photo: Reproduo / Helito BijoraRepublishing photo in history Photo: Reproduo / Helito Bijora

Republishing photo in history Photo: Reproduo / Helito Bijora

Step 4. If you want to disable the archiving of your stories, return to the main screen of the file and tap on the gear icon. Finally, disable the "Save to Archived Items" option.

Disabling archiving of stories Photo: Reproduo / Helito BijoraDisabling archiving of stories Photo: Reproduo / Helito Bijora

Disabling archiving of stories Photo: Reproduo / Helito Bijora

Ready! Take advantage of the tips to recover old images from your story or disable the automatic archiving of expired photos and videos.

What is your favorite social network? Leave your opinion on dnetc's Forum.

Facebook Messenger: how to use the My Day feature

Facebook Messenger: how to use the My Day feature