If Facebook is free, how does Mark Zuckerberg's company make money? This very common doubt is the answer, basically, advertising. Some other features of Facebook are also not so clear to users, such as the criteria the platform uses to suggest friends and what to do with a profile if a friend or relative dies.
Ten hidden Facebook features that few users know about
Find out in the following lines if you can use Messenger without having a social network account and if you can say that Facebook is the largest social network in the world. Check out six questions and answers about Facebook curiosities.
Free for users, Facebook has its methods to earn money Photo: Reproduction / dnetc
Want to buy a cell phone, TV and other discounted products? Meet the Compare dnetc
1. Does Messenger work on a disabled Facebook account?
Yes. During the process of deactivating the Facebook profile, the user is informed that the Messenger account will continue to be active and that it will be possible to continue talking normally. To access chat later, simply use the same login credentials you used to access Facebook. All friends will be able to find your photo in their contact list, chat window and public places on Facebook to send a new message. To delete your Messenger account, you will need to do this via the Messenger app for iPhone (iOS) or Android.
You can use Messenger without a Facebook account Photo: Luciana Maline / dnetc
You can also do the opposite process and create a Messenger account without having a social network profile. To do this, I need to download the mobile messenger app and register using the phone number. The user will be able to chat with all phonebook contacts who have the app installed and who also have the phone synchronized with the service.
2. What happens when the Facebook account is disabled?
First, I need to clarify that there is a difference between disabling and deleting a Facebook account. Disabling means leaving the profile inactive temporarily, invisible, so that it is not found by friends. The ideal procedure for those who want to take a break from the platform and want to come back later. In this mode, the service will remove your name and photo from most of the content you shared on the social network, but you will still be able to use your Facebook login to access external apps like Spotify and Pinterest, for example, because your profile is still active. at the base of the social network.
In addition to still having access to Messenger, you will also be able to view the comments you have left in the posts, however, your name will be displayed as plain text and your photo will be replaced with a generic avatar. Photo tags will also show your name, but the link will not lead you anywhere. To reactivate the profile later, simply log in with your credentials and everything is back to normal.
Confirmation box to temporarily disable Facebook account Photo: Playback / Raquel Freire
Deleting a profile will permanently delete the entire user content, and it will not be possible to reactivate the account. Before deletion, you can download a copy of all the information the social network has stored about you, such as photos and publications. If you do not require Messenger to remain active, the messenger will also be deleted in the process and you will lose all your conversations. All information will be deleted from the platform within 90 days.
3. Facebook the largest social network in the world?
Yes. On average, five 5 Facebook accounts are created every second, which led the platform to reach 2 billion users worldwide, with 1.4 active daily. Other indicators are also higher than other services and have contributed to the Zuckerberg network being considered the largest social network in the world.
Facebook has eight billion videos viewed per day, while YouTube, the world's second largest social network, has five billion daily views. Facebook also surpasses Instagram in the number of photos published daily: only 300 million from Face versus 95 million from Insta, which ranked third on the list. The top 10 follows WhatsApp, Google+, Twitter, Snapchat, Reddit, LinkedIn and Pinterest.
4. What is Facebook's criterion for suggesting friends?
Basically, they are mutual friends, participating in the same groups, tagging in the same pictures, networking and education, as places where you studied and worked, and contacts that you imported into the social network. You can delete any unwanted people from the list by clicking Remove next to their name, helping to improve suggestions.
For a certain period of 2015, Facebook also used users' real-time location to determine these suggestions, which would compromise people's privacy. The social network reported that the feature was used in a four-week testing phase, but the experiment has been discontinued and currently no longer uses the location for this purpose.
5. How does Facebook make money?
Approximately 89% of Facebook's revenue from digital ads. That is, companies pay Facebook to let you, the social network user, see the products they are selling. In 2018, Facebook had a total revenue of $ 55 billion. Currently, it can be said that all major brands in the market are active on Facebook and Instagram, which belongs to the same group led by Mark Zuckerberg.
Advertising is everywhere within the social network, in banners, posts and stories, in text format, photos, GIFs and videos. Payment is usually made for each click of users in the advertisements.
Facebook Lives Ads Photo: Gabrielle Lancellotti / dnetc
Another source of income would be targeted ads, which use personal and demographic data captured by Facebook to reach a specific audience. However, the Cambridge Analytic scandal, unveiled last year, opened a discussion about the business model, since the leakage of this data would have favored the agency's work in the Donald Trump campaign in the United States. With the information in hand, the company was tracing the psychological profile of people and sending sponsored advertisements that were more likely to succeed in the election.
6. How does Facebook know that a user has passed away?
Facebook has its own form for a friend or family member to report that a user has passed away. In it, the person must enter the person's name, the date of death and, if desired, the death certificate. The family must choose whether to turn the profile into a memorial or delete the social network page.
A memorial profile is a page dedicated to receiving honors after death. For identification, the message in memory will be next to the old user's name. Here, friends can send affection messages and view old photos. These profiles are not shown as a suggestion of friendship, nor do they appear in birthday reminders.
Facebook founder appeared with pstumo memorial on social network Photo: Reproduo / Business Insider
Anyone can designate an heir from your Facebook account, so that person will be the curator of your page in the event of death. The heir may change the profile and cover photo, set posts on the timeline, and accept friend requests, but will not be able to create new posts or view private messages. The indication of an heir contact is made within the settings of the social network.
How to delete many photos on Facebook at once