contador web Skip to content

Google Maps announces anonymous mode in Brazil; know how it works | Maps and location

Google Maps announced last Wednesday (2), the anonymous mode for navigation in Brazil. The feature allows you to use the map without a trace, that is, when the user activates the feature, the app will not save the searched locations in the history or Google Account, will not be able to share your location and will not use this data to create custom recommendations in the app. . The feature already exists on Google Chrome and YouTube and will reach Google Maps for Android phones in the coming weeks. There is no release date on the iPhone (iOS) yet.

READ: Google Maps Launches New Motorcycle Function; know

To turn on incognito mode, just tap the profile photo displayed in the upper right corner of the screen and select the option. Once enabled, a black band indicates navigation is in restricted mode. In addition, the point that signals the location of the user on the map will be black instead of the traditional blue.

Google Maps Annimo mode arrives in Brazil allowing you to navigate without a trace Photo: Divulgao / Google

Google Maps Annimo mode arrives in Brazil allowing you to navigate without a trace Photo: Divulgao / Google

Want to buy a cell phone, TV and other discounted products? Meet the Compare dnetc

Navigation in Maps can be performed as usual, with route search, street navigation, and establishment queries. If you want to leave Annimo Mode to receive personalized recommendations, just exit restricted mode. All travel and travel history will be deleted.

Other privacy features

Google also announced new privacy measures to protect user data while using other Google services. YouTube now lets you automatically delete all history of watched videos and items searched on the platform. The user can choose the desired period for the application to erase the records when they are three or 18 months old. The option to delete history manually is also still available.

YouTube Auto-delete function automatically deletes browsing history Photo: Playback / Helito BeggioraYouTube Auto-delete function automatically deletes browsing history Photo: Playback / Helito Beggiora

YouTube Auto-delete function automatically deletes browsing history Photo: Playback / Helito Beggiora

Google Assistant also offers greater data control. In the coming weeks, you will be able to delete conversations with the virtual assistant through voice commands. If the user requests the removal of more than one week of talk, the program will open the settings page to complete the request. These features will be released in English, but, according to Google, will be available in other languages ​​soon.

Google security check warn when user has weak passwords Photo: Divulgao / Google

Google security check warn when user has weak passwords Photo: Divulgao / Google

Another release is Security Check-Up, which warns users that they are using weak, reused or leaked web passwords. With just one click, the new tool will indicate the fragility of passwords for all Google services used by the user. , suggesting that the code be changed in case of possible threats of virtual scams.

How to download everything Google Maps knows about you

How to download everything Google Maps knows about you