contador web Skip to content

Facebook changes group privacy and starts banning abusive posts | Social networks

Facebook announced on Wednesday (14) changes aimed at making social networking groups simpler and safer against the spread of hate speech. Moderators gain new tools that make it easy to quickly remove content that violates platform rules. In addition, groups now have only two types of private or public privacy and receive improvements in the automatic detection intelligence of abusive posts.

The company has not set a date for implementing the changes. So far, the Brazilian version still shows groups in the old categories: public, closed or secret. Understand everything that changes in social network groups.

How does Facebook make money? 6 questions and answers about social networking

Facebook changes group privacy Photo: Elson de Souza / dnetcFacebook changes group privacy Photo: Elson de Souza / dnetc

Facebook changes group privacy Photo: Elson de Souza / dnetc

Want to buy a cell phone, TV and other discounted products? Meet the Compare dnetc

Detecting abusive content

Facebook says it has improved the automated system that identifies when a group post violates the social networking terms of use. According to the company, a machine learning combination with artificial intelligence can remove a publication even before it is viewed by other members. The material is forwarded to human reviewers responsible for deciding whether the content remains deleted or can be returned to the group.

To help administrators deal with abusive content, the social network launches the Group Quality page, which gives an overview of automatically removed posts. In addition, there is a new section devoted exclusively to reporting false news circulating among participants.

On the other hand, moderators will be charged more: if the company identifies condescension with members who break the rules with recurrence, the whole group could be banned from the platform.

Facebook changes group categories to "private" or "public" Photo: Divulgao / Facebook

Facebook changes group categories to "private" or "public" Photo: Divulgao / Facebook

According to Facebook, changing the categorization of groups helps increase the transparency of the level of privacy perceived by users. Old closed groups move to the private and visible category, which includes groups that can be found in the search but whose content is accessible only by participants. Already secret groups become the private and invisible type, which, in addition to the content restricted to members, do not appear in social network search.

The group entry mechanism is also more transparent. Upon receiving an invitation, a user may peek at the group's posts before accepting or rejecting the request to join. If you decide to log in, you will have access to more detailed information such as who are the administrators and possible names that the same group has had in the past.

The public group definitions remain the same: it can be found by searching Facebook and its content can be read by members or non-members.

How to find out who hacked Facebook? Exchange tips on the dnetc forum.

Facebook: Tips to prevent onlookers from looking at your information

Facebook: Tips to prevent onlookers from looking at your information