Everything you need to do before selling your iPhone, iPod or iPad

Everything you need to do before selling your iPhone, iPod or iPad

Are you one of those already thinking about selling your current iPhone to buy the new one that will be launched soon? Or did you finally decide to sell your old iPad to buy a newer one, with Retina display? This is very good, but you need to be careful not to leave any personal information on the old device before passing it on to someone else.

Check here everything you need to do to “reset” your device before selling or giving it away.

Well, the most important thing when giving your iPhone or iPad to someone is to erase all the content in it, so that no information about you falls into the wrong hands.

ATTENTION: This process is not recommended for devices blocked with external operators and which have been activated with jailbreak.

❖ Backup your data

Before deleting everything from the device, you need to make a backup of your data so as not to lose anything and still be able to use it on another device. To do this, follow the steps recommended in our backup tutorial. To remove songs that are on the device and not in your library, follow this other tutorial as well.

❖ Erasing all data

On our devices, we have contacts, emails, addresses, credit card numbers, passwords and so we must be very careful before passing it on. So there are two efficient ways to delete everything completely, without any risk to your privacy. Both are efficient and you only need to choose one of them.

➤ Mode 1: Restoring from iTunes

After you have backed up all of your information, it’s time to erase everything on your device. Connect it to iTunes on your computer using the USB cable and wait for the screen of the device connected to iTunes to appear.

Select the device and click the button To restore. It will download the latest version of iOS and install it, erasing everything on the device, including your data. Don’t worry, your backup is safe. After that, you can pass the device on.

➤ Mode 2: Direct on the device

If you don’t have a computer nearby, you can still delete everything on the device.

Go in Settings> General> Reset and select Erase All Content and Settings. After you confirm that you really want it, it will erase everything in the system, leaving it as it came from the factory. With that, after a few minutes, your iPhone, iPod or iPad will be ready to pass on to someone else, without the danger of containing any personal information about you.

Original content © iPhone Blog