contador web Skip to content

Eight Functions of Social Networking that 'Ended' Your Privacy | Social networks

Social networks have useful functions for everyday life, but at the same time can invade the privacy of the user. Being "invisible" on the Internet is becoming increasingly difficult as platforms such as Facebook, Twitter and Instagram allow anyone to access profile information such as followers and likes. Tools such as location sharing and face recognition in photos can also further expose the online user. The following list highlights some of the social networking features that, in a way, end users' privacy.

READ: Google knows almost everything you do on the internet; avoid

List features social networking features that lower users' privacy Photo: Nicolly Vimercate / dnetcList features social networking features that lower users' privacy Photo: Nicolly Vimercate / dnetc

List features social networking features that lower users' privacy Photo: Nicolly Vimercate / dnetc

Want to buy a cell phone, TV and other discounted products? Meet the Compare dnetc

One of WhatsApp's most well-known features is "last seen", which tells you the time of the last time the contact accessed the app. The function is viewed with a great deal of duality as it causes users to lose their privacy rights, and give others access to their application usage history. For those who want to preserve themselves, it is possible to get the last WhatsApp visa.

Instagram has similar functionality in seo Direct. Last seen online displays how many hours it has been since the user last accessed the app. In both social networks, it is possible to disable such feature however, in return, the person can not see what was the last time other users entered the app.

Last seen symbol on WhatsApp Photo: Luciana Maline / dnetcLast seen symbol on WhatsApp Photo: Luciana Maline / dnetc

Last seen symbol on WhatsApp Photo: Luciana Maline / dnetc

2. Viewing WhatsApp Group Messages

WhatsApp read receipt informs senders when their messages have been viewed by the recipient. You can disable double "blue check" in the app settings, but it only applies to private conversations. WhatsApp groups tell you if a message has been read regardless of the configuration of the user in question, without being able to completely delete such a function. Another option is to use tricks to circumvent read receipt in WhatsApp.

  You can create groups and know who read your posts on WhatsApp Photo: Viviane Werneck / dnetc  You can create groups and know who read your posts on WhatsApp Photo: Viviane Werneck / dnetc

You can create groups and know who read your posts on WhatsApp Photo: Viviane Werneck / dnetc

3. Instagram Likes Cannot Be Hidden

Followers have access to all the activities of an Instagram account, such as who they follow and which photos they like. The network has an exclusive tab only for such functionality, where you can view the activity of all users in a row. That is, the tool makes public everything done within the app, so that no action can be done privately on Instagram.

Even with the full exposure of the accounts, the social photo network offers no solutions to change the setting, so the accounts lose their privacy and have their contents exposed to any account that follows them.

Instagram "delata" usurios likes Photo: Nicolly Vimercate / dnetcInstagram "delata" usurios likes Photo: Nicolly Vimercate / dnetc

Instagram "delata" usurios likes Photo: Nicolly Vimercate / dnetc

4. Location Sharing

The location sharing feature was first incremented in Snapchat, where users could identify nearby accounts. Users appeared on a giant global map (the so-called "Snap Map") where the avatar's location was updated each time the person moved.

WhatsApp adopted the function in 2017, and users can now share real-time location for groups or certain contacts for a set period of time. Functionality can be a way of controlling the routine of some people, such as parents who want to know where their children are, but it can also be the end of the "I'm coming" or "I'm stuck in traffic" excuses.

WhatsApp Live Location Photo: Thssius Veloso / dnetcWhatsApp Live Location Photo: Thssius Veloso / dnetc

WhatsApp Live Location Photo: Thssius Veloso / dnetc

5. Be tagged in photos by others

Most social networks that allow you to post photos allow you to tag which people are present in the image. Both on Instagram and Facebook you can click on someone's face to mark their name and account, allowing everyone to have access to people in the photo.

On Instagram, when tagged in a photo, the image appears on one of the profile tabs. Already within Facebook, posts where the marked account appears immediately on the profile timeline, causing users not to have complete control over what appears on their account. However, you can unlink your name from the image after it is published, and you can also review Facebook tags before they appear on your timeline.

Facebook and Instagram allow tagging users in third party photos Photo: Tainah Tavares / dnetcFacebook and Instagram allow tagging users in third party photos Photo: Tainah Tavares / dnetc

Facebook and Instagram allow tagging users in third party photos Photo: Tainah Tavares / dnetc

6. Facebook Face Recognition in Photos

Facebook has a face recognition feature to automate social photo tagging. The social network does not warn the user that he has been tagged in a photo, so the user can only unlink his profile after the image has already been published. Also, not all users of the app are aware of the ability to uncheck and uncheck the feature. Functionality can still, given its automation, make mistakes and score wrong accounts that look alike.

Facebook has face recognition to facilitate automatic photo tagging Photo: Melissa Cruz / dnetcFacebook has face recognition to facilitate automatic photo tagging Photo: Melissa Cruz / dnetc

Facebook has face recognition to facilitate automatic photo tagging Photo: Melissa Cruz / dnetc

7. Twitter likes are displayed on the timeline

In the past, the only way to access the tweets favored by a Twitter user was from a tab on the profile in question. With microblogging changes, favorite tweets can be accessed from the feed in a section of the main account posts. Thus, they became visible to all followers through the timeline, amidst the strikes and retreats.

Twitter shows on timeline user liked shots Photo: Caio Bersot / dnetcTwitter shows on timeline user liked shots Photo: Caio Bersot / dnetc

Twitter shows on timeline user liked shots Photo: Caio Bersot / dnetc

8. Know which accounts people follow

Instagram displays followers and accounts followed by all profiles set to public. Twitter has similar configuration, allowing to identify which network of followers present in open accounts. The function, while allowing for ease of finding third party profiles, is also a way to invade the privacy of others.

The only possible way to prevent such functionality is to make your profile private. The setting hides information such as posts and friends network. However, the moment you allow another account to follow you, your information will automatically be available to followers once again.

  possible to see a Instagram profile followers network Picture: Nicolly Vimercate / dnetc  possible to see a Instagram profile followers network Picture: Nicolly Vimercate / dnetc

possible to see a Instagram profile followers network Picture: Nicolly Vimercate / dnetc

What is your favorite social network? Leave your opinion on the dnetc Forum.

Social networks that (almost) everyone has used

Social networks that (almost) everyone has used