contador web Skip to content

Auto-delete history function arrives on YouTube; know how to delete | Players

Google now lets you automatically delete your YouTube history on your mobile phone. The privacy feature, which was already available for location and activity history, can be activated on the video service from Wednesday (2). When configuring the function, old information older than three or 18 months is deleted on time. Subsequently, activities that reach the selected deadline will be automatically removed, without the user having to worry about repeating the process.

In the following tutorial, check out how to automatically delete your YouTube history from your smartphone. The procedure was performed by Safari on an iPhone XR with iOS 13, but the tips also apply to users of Android devices.

How to download videos and data from your YouTube account

Learn how to enable Auto Delete feature on YouTube Photo: Play / Helito BeggioraLearn how to enable Auto Delete feature on YouTube Photo: Play / Helito Beggiora

Learn how to enable Auto Delete feature on YouTube Photo: Play / Helito Beggiora

Want to buy a cell phone, TV and other discounted products? Meet the Compare TechTudo

Step 1. Visit the YouTube Activity Tracking page (myaccount.google/activitycontrols/youtube) and if necessary sign in to your account. Then tap "Manage History";

Access YouTube history management Photo: Play / Helito BeggioraAccess YouTube history management Photo: Play / Helito Beggiora

Access YouTube history management Photo: Play / Helito Beggiora

Step 2. Next page, tap "Select to automatically delete." Then choose the period for which you would like to keep the history for three or 18 months. That done, tap "Next";

Select how long YouTube history should be kept Photo: Playback / Helito BeggioraSelect how long YouTube history should be kept Photo: Playback / Helito Beggiora

Select how long YouTube history should be kept Photo: Playback / Helito Beggiora

Step 3. Google will display some examples of activities longer than the selected period that will be excluded. Tap "Confirm" to erase the data and finally press "OK" to finish the setting.

Enabling auto delete on YouTube history Photo: Playback / Helito BeggioraEnabling auto delete on YouTube history Photo: Playback / Helito Beggiora

Enabling auto delete on YouTube history Photo: Playback / Helito Beggiora

Ready! Take advantage of the tips to automatically delete your YouTube video history and protect your privacy.

How to close the YouTube app and keep listening to videos

How to close the YouTube app and keep listening to videos