After spotted by iOS 14, TikTok will stop spying on user information

After spotted by iOS 14, TikTok will stop spying on user information

After spotted by iOS 14, TikTok will stop spying on user information

One of the features included in the iOS 14 is to always warn when an application spies what the user has saved on the clipboard (clipboard) of the system.

And thanks to the beta that is already being tested by several developers, is that the popular application TikTok was caught accessing this area of ​​the system exaggeratedly, without explaining why.

This had such repercussions that the company that developed the app clarified that it is already preparing an update to TikTok that will no longer do this.



TikTok is not a saint. In March this year two developers had already realized that the video app continuously accessed the area where the user copied information, for no apparent reason. And TikTok said, at the time, something like “theps, it was bad, sorry, we will change that in the next update”. June came and none of that changed.

Now, with the new feature of iOS 14, it has become almost impossible to hide the questionable attitude from the general public, which forces the company to finally change its behavior.

They claim that they did this as an anti-SPAM control. But…

The feature implemented by iOS 14 may seem like freshness, but it is actually quite important. At all times we copy and paste information from one app to another, including passwords, logins and even personal photos. When this information falls into the hands of third parties, without consent, control over how it can be used is lost.

It is a new feature of iOS that in practice will make many services that we use to control us less and less.