contador web Saltar al contenido

How to change the permission settings for Messenger on Android | Social networks

Through the Android settings, it is possible to change the permission given to each item requested by Messenger. In the past few days, amidst the controversial misuse of information by about 50 million Facebook users, many people are not only deleting their accounts on the network, but also downloading the information that the platform collects about them. One of these users, Dylan McKay, made a tweet that went viral, showing that the service has access to even calls made, received and missed.

1 of 4
See how to limit data access to Messenger Photo: Marvin Costa / TechTudo

See how to limit data access to Messenger Photo: Marvin Costa / TechTudo

Facebook case: social network accused of tracking messages on Android

In response to this discovery, Facebook made a post on its official blog in which it explains that the call and text logging is part of an optional feature for people using Messenger or Facebook Lite on Android. In addition, the text states that the data are not sold and the resource does not collect the contents of telephone conversations or text messages.

However, if you still want to view and / or change the permissions you grant Messenger on Android, check out how to proceed in the steps below:

Step 1. In your Android options menu, click Configure. Then scroll down to view the Applications item. Touch it.

2 of 4
Access the Android Apps option Photo: Reproduo / Taysa Coelho

Access the Android Apps option Photo: Reproduo / Taysa Coelho

Step 2. Once again, scroll down the screen. When you find Messenger, tap on it to access the app's information. Then just click on Permissions.

3 of 4
Tap on the "Messenger" option among Android apps Photo: Reproduo / Taysa Coelho

Tap on the "Messenger" option among Android apps Photo: Reproduo / Taysa Coelho

Step 3. Now, just tap on the options you want to allow or deny that the application has access. If the key is blue, it means that access to the information corresponding to that item is enabled.

4 of 4
Disable options that you don't want Messenger to have access to on Android Photo: Reproduo / Taysa Coelho

Disable options that you don't want Messenger to have access to on Android Photo: Reproduo / Taysa Coelho

Before deactivating some permissions, it is worth considering the importance of this access for the use of the application. The microphone, for example, allows you to record voice messages; it is already the fundamental camera for taking photos or making videos through the app, as well as for conducting videoconferences. With regard to SMS, the request is made to send a confirmation message from the registered phone.

Anyway, if the user deactivates a fundamental permission for the use of some resource, Messenger will request access again. Remember that the problem occurs only on devices with Android system, but if users of iOS devices also want to perform the procedure, just check out the tutorial "How to prevent iPhone apps from accessing camera, microphone, photos and GPS", prepared by TechTudo.

Facebook: how to recover deleted messages? Find out in the TechTudo forum.

How to go offline on Facebook Messenger

How to go offline on Facebook Messenger