contador web Saltar al contenido

Facebook: how to keep apps connected without providing your personal data | Social networks

Facebook allows users to choose which personal data will be shared with an application or service linked to their account. The feature, available only in the web version of the social network, makes it possible to keep apps connected without providing personal data such as your age, friends list, e-mail address, personal description and other profile details.

In addition to being a privacy solution, the procedure is indicated to prevent malicious apps from misusing user data. Check out, in the tutorial we prepared, how to keep apps and services connected without them having access to your personal data.

Facebook changes privacy settings after scandal

Facebook: tips to prevent onlookers from looking at your information

Facebook: tips to prevent onlookers from looking at your information

Step 1. Open Facebook, click on the white arrow icon in the upper right corner of the screen and access "Settings";

1 of 5
Way to access the settings of a Facebook account Photo: Reproduo / Marvin Costa

Way to access the settings of a Facebook account Photo: Reproduo / Marvin Costa

Step 2. In the menu on the left side of the screen, click on the "Applications" option;

2 of 5
Access the settings of applications linked to your Facebook account Photo: Reproduo / Marvin Costa

Access the settings of applications linked to your Facebook account Photo: Reproduo / Marvin Costa

Step 3. To see all services and applications, click on "Show all";

3 of 5
Click on "show all" to see the applications linked to your Facebook Photo: Reproduo / Marvin Costa

Click on "show all" to see the applications linked to your Facebook Photo: Reproduo / Marvin Costa

Step 4. Click on the pencil icon next to the application whose access you want to restrict;

4 of 5
Edit an app's permissions on a Facebook account by clicking on the pencil icon Photo: Reproduo / Marvin Costa

Edit an app's permissions on a Facebook account by clicking on the pencil icon Photo: Reproduo / Marvin Costa

Step 5. The permissions are selected with a blue check mark on the right side of the screen. To remove them from the application, click on this blue indicator to turn them off. To make the new permission effective, click "Save".

5 of 5
When to restrict permissions for applications linked to Facebook Photo: Reproduo / Marvin Costa

When to restrict permissions for applications linked to Facebook Photo: Reproduo / Marvin Costa

Take advantage of the tip to prevent your confidential Facebook data from being accessed by services connected to your account.