contador web Saltar al contenido

How to know if your Facebook has been hacked and find out what to do

It is possible to know if your Facebook has been hacked from the analysis of actions considered suspicious. According to the social network, an account may have been hacked if password, email, date of birth or name are changed without the user's consent.

Sending friend requests to strangers, as well as messages and publications that were not made by the person himself, can also be considered signs.

In some cases, however, cyber criminals leave no trace and it is more difficult to discover the vulnerability. The platform, however, offers tools that help you find out if your account has been taken over by a third party.

AppGeek shows all of them and even helps prevent future attacks by strengthening your security on Facebook. Check it out below.

Find out where your Facebook account was last accessed

Facebook has a record of where and on which devices your account was last accessed on the social network.

1. Access the Facebook Security and Login page;

2. If you are not logged in, enter your email or phone and password and click Log in;

3. Then, a list of devices, cities and when the last accesses were made will be displayed;

4. If you have not done any of them, click with the button on the three dots icon displayed next to each item in the list;

How to tell if Facebook has been hacked

5. So, go on Get out, to unlink your account from the unknown device.

Change your password

If you have found an unknown device, date or location among those listed, it is recommended that you change your password immediately.

1. Access the Facebook Security and Login page;

2. In Change Password, v on the button To edit;

3. Then enter the current password in the first text box. In the following, enter the new password. Confirm the new password in the third box;

How to tell if Facebook has been hacked

4. Complete the process in Save changes;

5. A window appears on the screen, asking if you want to disconnect your account on all other devices. We strongly recommend that you choose Check the other devices and log out of the devices your Facebook is connected to;

How to tell if Facebook has been hacked

6. Confirm in Continue.

How to recover a hacked Facebook account

If you can no longer even log into Facebook, you can report the invasion on the social network and regain access to your account.

1. Access the Facebook page to report a compromised account;

2. click in My account is compromised;

3. Enter your email or phone number and click Search to find your account;

How to tell if Facebook has been hacked

4. Now enter the current password or any recent password and confirm at Continue;

5. Follow the process in Protect my account;

6. You will receive a security code through the email or phone used to login. Enter it in the text box and confirm at Continue;

How to tell if Facebook has been hacked

7. Now, time to create a new password. Facebook recommends that you have at least six characters, which include numbers, letters, punctuation and symbols. After typing, go to Continue;

8. Then, tell us why you believe your account has been hacked and then go to Continue;

How to tell if Facebook has been hacked

9. You will be directed to the Facebook Security Check tool. To follow the check, click Start;

10. Come now Continue;

11. Despite having just created a new password, once again, the social network asks you to enter a new access code, which you do not use in any other service. Repeat the password in the box below, then click Continue;

12. The email addresses linked to the account will then be displayed. If you don't recognize any of them, click on the box next to it and then Delete. If everything is ok, go to Jump;

13. Then, Facebook applications that may not have been added by you will be shown. If you don't recognize any, check the corresponding box and go to Delete. If you recognize them all, click Jump;

How to tell if Facebook has been hacked

14. Now, it's time to repeat the procedure with people you may not have added. If you recognize everyone, go to Jump;

15. Then check out the recent publications. If you haven't done any of them, check the box beside and click Delete. If everything is right, go to Jump;

16. Finally, it is time to delete comments that you may not have posted or skipped, if you recognize them all;

17. Complete the process in Go to News Feed.

Have I been affected by Facebook's recent security breaches?

In the past few months, Facebook has found itself involved in polemics involving the safety of its users. Among them were the disclosure of unauthorized personal data to application developers.

In the most recent case, discovered in September 2018, the company confirmed hackers' access to information from nearly 30 million accounts. To solve the problem, the company invalidated the token access of 90 million users who could have been affected.

O token access which allows Facebook to be always connected in the browser. Therefore, whoever had the tool deactivated needed only to login again – without the need to create a new password, although it was recommended.

To find out if you have been affected by recent security breaches, the social network provides the Security Incident page. There, it is possible to know if it has been affected and what information may have been accessed by cyber criminals.

How to tell if Facebook has been hacked

Facebook says it does not know what attackers should do with the data obtained in the latest attack. However, its engineers believe that the information collected can be used to create and spread spam inside and outside the social network.

How to keep your Facebook account safe

Facebook has some tools that aim to make its users feel more secure. Among them are two-factor authentication, receiving alerts from unrecognized logins or choosing a trusted friend to contact the platform if you lose access.

Alerts for unrecognized logins

The option is available on the Security and Login page, in the item Extra Security. You can choose to receive notifications if someone logs in to your account from an unknown device or browser.

So, decide if you want to receive the alert through Facebook notifications, by messaging on Messenger or via registered email. To confirm your decision, you will need to enter your password.

Choose friends to unlock your account

Also available in the Extras Security section of the Security and Login page of Facebook, the feature allows you to choose between three and five friends to ask for help if you are unable to access your account.

For this, go to the button To edit, next to the option Choose between 3 and 5 friends to contact in case of loss of access. Then click Choose Friends and confirm in Choose security contacts. Enter the name of at least three trusted people and confirm.

From then on, these people will be able to save you from problems with the login, by sending a code and the Facebook URL.

Enable two-factor authentication

Two-factor authentication adds an extra layer of protection to your account. This is because, to access it, in addition to email or phone and password, it is also necessary to enter a code, generated on the spot and sent via SMS or app.

To activate the option, the user needs to access the Security and Facebook login page and click the button To edit, beside Use two-factor authentication. On the page that opens, start the process at Start.

How to tell if Facebook has been hacked

Now, choose whether you want the security code to be sent by SMS or generated by app, such as the Google Authenticator. If you decide for the first option, you need to enter a mobile phone number and then insert the code sent to the device.

If you choose the app, it is necessary to scan, with the application itself, a QR code that is displayed on the screen. Then, just insert the code generated by the application to finish the process.

From then on, every time you log in to an unknown device or location, Facebook asks for authentication in two factors.

If still, you no longer trust the security offered by the company, an option to permanently delete your Facebook account.