contador web Saltar al contenido

Apple releases universal purchase of applications on the App Store; see what changes

From now on, Apple device users can purchase an app and use it on all systems (iOS, iPadOS, macOS and tvOS)

In February, the Apple had announced that it would release universal app purchases for its devices. To the delight of users and developers, this feature is now available. From now on, you can use apps on platforms iOS, iPadOS, macOS and tvOS without buying separately.

For you who have no idea what has changed, here's the explanation: previously the Apple did not allow some iOS (iPhone) function in macOS (computers Mac gives Apple), for example. Thus, the user would have to buy the same application separately for each system / device, generating more expenses, obviously. Even though the developers wanted to offer the app to everyone (universal purchase), it still wasn't feasible.

Apple Mac with App Store openUsers can now pay for an app to use on iOS, iPadOS, macOS and tvOS

With this change, users who purchase an application on iPad or iPhone be able to use it on Mac, without having to pay for the same app again.

The announcement was made through a press release on the developers website of Apple. In the publication, the company announces that developers can now include the other versions of the apps as universal purchase on all systems.

Distribute iOS, iPadOS, watchOS, macOS and tvOS versions of your app as a universal purchase to allow customers to easily enjoy your app and in-app purchases across multiple platforms. They only need to buy once on the App Storesays the Apple in the statement.

Apple devices App developers can now work with universal purchase on the App Store

THE Apple already made changes to App Store due to the purchase change. Despite this, all these new features should gradually appear to users.

Expansion of the App Store

The manufacturer of the iPhone announced on Monday (23), also on the developer portal, the expansion of App Store in other countries. In the next month, 20 regions will receive the app store: Afghanistan, Gabon, Ivory Coast, Gergy, Maldives, Serbia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Cameroon, Iraq, Kosovo, Libya, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Nauru, Rwanda , Tonga, Zmbia and Vanuatu.

To allow your application to appear in these new countries, the Membership Account Holder must first accept the updated Program License Agreement by logging into their account on the Apple Developer website, guides the Apple to developers. They have until April 10 to update.

Today the Apple provides the App Store in 155 countries.

Sources: Apple and The Verge.