contador web Saltar al contenido

Apple Pay arrives in Taiwan with support for seven banks

This Wednesday (29/3), Apple announced the arrival of the Apple Pay The Taiwan.

For now, seven banks already support Ma's payment service: Taipei Fubon Commercial Bank, Cathay United Bank, E. Sun Commercial Bank, Taishin International Bank, CTBC Bank, Standard Chartered Bank and Union Bank of Taiwan. Their customers will be able to link their cards with Mastercard or Visa to Apple Pay.

In Taiwan, the service can be used in 46 stores, including Carrefour, Breeze, PXMart, Big City, A. Mart, Far Eastern Department Stores and more. Other big names, like the Starbucks chain, are also on the list.

From what the China Post, the chain of convenience stores FamilyMart is restricting the use of cards from Taishin International Bank and it is only in June that it will start supporting cards from CTBC Bank, Cathay United Bank and E.SUN Bank.

Taiwan today joins the other 14 countries that have already received Apple's mobile payments service: Australia, Canada, China, Spain, United States, France, Hong Kong, Ireland, Japan, New Zealand, United Kingdom, Russia, Singapore and Switzerland . Due to some evidence, everything indicates that the next countries to receive the service will be Germany and Italy.

(via AppleInsider)