contador web Saltar al contenido

How to delete my Facebook? See all the ways to leave the social network | Social networks

Deleting Facebook is a wish of many users. Whether because the platform has run out of grace, takes too long or because of privacy scandals like Cambridge Analytica, people are increasingly thinking about deleting their profile on the social network. But friends, the history of publications, shared files and doubts about the procedure end up making some people give up on action, which can be irreversible.

READ: Facebook and Instagram have hated functions; know her

To resolve this dilemma, the TechTudo gathered the main questions and answers about closing a Facebook account. Please read the guide below carefully before deactivating your profile so you will not regret it later.

How to delete your Facebook account

How to delete your Facebook account

Want to buy cell phones, TV and other discounted products? Meet Compare TechTudo

1. What is the difference between deactivating and deleting the account?

Deactivating the Facebook account means that people are unable to search or access your profile, but your data is kept. So, you can reactivate the account whenever you want, without losing your publications and files. This is a temporary solution, ideal for "taking a break" on the social network.

Some of your information, such as messages sent to friends, can still be seen. Group administrators will be able to view your posts and comments, in addition to your name. When deactivating the account, you can choose to keep or disable Facebook Messenger as well.

J delete the definitive Facebook account. Because of this, the platform starts the exclusion process 14 days after your order. In the meantime, if you regret it, you can cancel the request to delete your account simply by logging into the site.

Deleting all data can take up to 90 days to complete. The messages you have sent to your friends can still be viewed by them, as these contents are not stored in your account. Facebook claims that copies of log records and other files can be kept in its database, but the contents are unlinked from any personal identification.

2. How to temporarily disable Facebook?

To temporarily disable Facebook, click on the arrow icon in the upper right corner of the site, and enter "Settings". In the "General" menu, select "Manage account" and then press "Disable account". Confirm the operation to complete the temporary deactivation.

Temporary deactivation of the Facebook account on the website Foto: Reproduo / Raquel FreireTemporary deactivation of the Facebook account on the website Foto: Reproduo / Raquel Freire

Temporary deactivation of the Facebook account on the website Foto: Reproduo / Raquel Freire

3. How to delete Facebook forever?

To permanently delete your Facebook account, simply go to: facebook.com/help/delete_account and click on the "Delete account" button. Press "Download information" if you want to make a backup of the content posted on the social network. The platform requires the insertion of your password and a Captcha code to confirm the final closure of the profile.

Definitive deletion of Facebook account Photo: Reproduo / Raquel FreireDefinitive deletion of Facebook account Photo: Reproduo / Raquel Freire

Definitive deletion of Facebook account Photo: Reproduo / Raquel Freire

4. How to delete someone else's Facebook?

Facebook allows friends and family to request the removal of the accounts of people with medical disabilities, whether physical or mental, or even in the event of death. If you have someone close to you in these circumstances, access the page for this purpose (facebook.com/help/contact/228813257197480) and fill out the form. The applicant must provide his / her full name, full name of the disabled or deceased person, URL of the profile to be deleted and possible e-mail with which the person registered on Facebook.

Form for deleting a Facebook account for a clinically disabled or deceased person Photo: Reproduo / Raquel FreireForm for deleting a Facebook account for a clinically disabled or deceased person Photo: Reproduo / Raquel Freire

Form for deleting a Facebook account for a clinically disabled or deceased person Photo: Reproduo / Raquel Freire

It is also necessary to state the reason for the exclusion request. If you check the options corresponding to death, you must attach a certificate of death or related document, in addition to informing the date of death. If the reason is clinical incapacity, it will be necessary to include a medical report and proof of legal guardianship. When all fields are completed, press "Submit".

Sending a request to delete a third party account on Facebook due to death or illness Photo: Reproduo / Raquel FreireSending a request to delete a third party account on Facebook due to death or illness Photo: Reproduo / Raquel Freire

Sending a request to delete a third party account on Facebook due to death or illness Photo: Reproduo / Raquel Freire

5. How to recover a Facebook account?

Account recovery is done simply by logging into Facebook. In the case of temporary deactivation, you can do this at any time. If you have made the definitive deletion, the period to redeem the account is 14 days, counting from the request. After that period, the profile can no longer be recovered.

Account recovery disabled on Facebook done with login Photo: Reproduo / Raquel FreireAccount recovery disabled on Facebook done with login Photo: Reproduo / Raquel Freire

Account recovery disabled on Facebook done with login Photo: Reproduo / Raquel Freire

6. Is there another way to leave Facebook?

If you have problems with someone specifically on the social network or want to increase your privacy, you can avoid it without leaving Facebook. The most dramatic way is to block the person, who will not be able to see anything else that you post or see your markings. You also will not have access to her content and, if they are friends, the friendship will be broken.

Blocking a person on Facebook Photo: Reproduo / Raquel FreireBlocking a person on Facebook Photo: Reproduo / Raquel Freire

Blocking a person on Facebook Photo: Reproduo / Raquel Freire

If you don't want to go that far, you can simply prevent someone from seeing your posts without breaking up friendship by adding them to the restricted list. It is still possible to silence a friend temporarily or permanently, and both operations are reversible if you change your mind.

What is your favorite social network? Leave your opinion in the TechTudo Forum.

Social networks that (almost) everyone has used

Social networks that (almost) everyone has used