Thinking about new ways to monitor and control children in Messenger Kids, Facebook announced this Tuesday news in the application it launched in 2017. From now on, parents will, for example, have access to the conversation history of the last few 30 days and being able to log out of the account on any device remotely.
One of the novelties presented allows parents to know who the children have talked to, through video calls or messages, and to have access to the history of the last 30 days. With regard to multimedia content, the updates make it possible for users to have access to the most recent photos and videos that children have sent, but also that they have received. If adults believe that any type of content is not appropriate, they can remove them from the message thread and report them.
In order to ensure greater safety for children, Facebook also allows access to the list of blocking actions and restrictions for the youngest. Parents now have the opportunity to gain knowledge of contacts that have been blocked or unblocked and, on the other hand, of the messages reported by the child and the reasons. Still, the social network clarifies that adults will continue to be notified via Messenger if the youngest block or report an account.
Another feature now launched makes it possible for parents to be aware of all the equipment that children have logged in or log out of the app through the adult dashboard. However, this feature was not created to control when the newer ones accessed the app, since there is a "sleep mode" for that.
Parents will also be able to download the children's information list, which includes their contact details, as well as messages, photos and videos they have sent and received. Whenever adults do, children will be notified in the Messenger Kids app.
Facebook has also updated the way that the youngest block contacts in the application, in order to offer a "simpler way to manage with whom they interact", guarantees the publication of the social network. From now on, children can unblock a contact on their own and chat with them, but only in group chats. The blocked contacts will then remain visible and children will be notified each time they are in a group chat again or added to a conversation that has a contact that they have blocked. I can always leave the group conversations whenever they want.
But, considering it important to "help children better understand how their information is used and shared", Facebook also launched a novelty that educates the youngest about the type of data that people can access. For example, the social network starts to inform children that internet users can see their name and photo or, for example, that they cannot delete any message they send or receive on the app.
The updates come after several polemics around the app. An investigation published in late 2019 revealed, for example, that more than a million children around the world were marked as interested in Facebook ads about alcohol and gambling.