contador web Saltar al contenido

How to disable Telegram in 5 steps

Telegram is one of the best messaging apps you can use today. It is secure, full of features, receives updates frequently and can be much better than WhatsApp, its main rival. Even so, it may not be ideal for everyone, especially if most of your friends don't use the app, for example. For this or other reasons, you may prefer to disable Telegram and simply stop using it on your smartphone.

The good news is that it is quite simple to disable Telegram in general. To learn how to do this in a few steps, you can check out our tips in the tutorial below!

How to disable Telegram

Unlike applications like Facebook Messenger or TikTok, the option to disable Telegram is not found in the application itself. Instead, we have to go to the official app deactivation page.

You can access it through the following link. The whole process can be performed in the internet browser of your smartphone or your PC.

Step 1: to start, enter the deactivation site and put your number in the blank field asking for the phone. They ask you to enter the number in an international format, so you need to enter +55 and the area code followed by the cell number. Click "Next".

How to disable Telegram

Step 2: As soon as you do this, you will receive a special code for Telegram. to make sure the number is correct and that you are authorized to disable that account. Go to the app and get this code.

verification code

Step 3: enter the code received in the blank field below the deactivation page and click on ?Sign In?.

disable Telegram code

Step 4: Next, you will see a warning about what it means to disable your account. You can still write the reason why you want to stop using the app in the larger blank field below.

Step 5: When you are finished reading and if you are still sure you want to disable the app, click on ?Delete my account?.

delete telegram account

Ready! Very simple to deactivate, right?! Fortunately, this is what you need to do to permanently disable Telegram.

Should I disable Telegram?

This option is much more recommended for those who really do not want to use the app in the future. After all, it erases all of your messages.

Other than that, the groups / channels you created will remain in the possession of your administrators. It is also not possible to recover the old content if you decide to use Telegram again.

The good news is that you can create a new account with the same number if you want. You will only have the inconvenience of having to start your conversations and join all groups again.

Of course, if you just want to spend some time without using the App, it may be best to uninstall it and come back when you're ready.

Did you like the tips?

Did you take advantage of our tips to learn how you can disable Telegram quickly? So don't forget to leave your comment telling us what you think and if there are other tips from the app that you would like to see here.