Earlier this week, we commented on the investigation of Associated Press about the feature Google location history, present in the company's navigation and search applications. Although Google answered why it continued to track devices even with this feature disabled, the result presented by the agency generated so much fuss that the Mountain View giant decided to update its support documents to better explain the feature in question while continuing to collect the data. Dice.
As disclosed by the AP News, the Google support page for setting up the location history now reports that this adjustment does not affect other location services on the device, but that some location data can be saved as part of the activity performed on other services, such as search and maps. For now, the support page of Google's location history in Portuguese has not been updated with the new information and further informs that "with the Location History disabled, the places you frequent are no longer stored".
This setting does not affect other location services on your device, such as Google's Location Services and Find My Device. Some location data can be saved as part of your activity on other services, such as Search and Maps. When you disable Location History for your Google Account, it is disabled for all devices associated with that Google Account.
In a statement released yesterday (8/16) by AP, Google has stated that it is "updating the explanatory language on the location history to make it more consistent and clear on the various platforms", so it is possible for the company to clarify other questions about more of its resources and services.
As we highlighted in the article published last Monday, users who want to stop crawling Google applications entirely should disable the ?web and app activity? feature, in addition to the location history itself. Check out this Google support page to learn how to turn off the activity feature.