contador web Saltar al contenido

Cautions You Should Take Before Leaving Your iPhone for Service

It is a very common situation: the iPhone or iPad is defective and soon beats that anxiety of handing over the device in technical assistance. Your whole life is there, after all from private conversations to bank details, to notes with personal information and photos that you might not want to see circulating on the Internet.

Unfortunately, not infrequently, cases of data or images improperly exposed on the Internet. We can remember the leaks of the intimate photos of various Hollywood celebrities, or occurrences recorded right here in Brazil, such as the actor Stnio Garcia and his wife and the case of actress Carolina Dieckmann.

Sometimes the problem can get even more serious: a few weeks ago, in Feira de Santana (BA), the owner of an iPhones service was arrested after blackmailing a client, threatening to post intimate photos of her on the Internet if she did not have sex with him the information is from the newspaper mail. The victim even claimed to have erased all data from the iPhone before handing it assistance, but the criminal was able to recover it from a backup of iCloud.

So keep in mind: There is a very simple way to make sure your data stays private when delivering your iPhone (or iPad, or iPod touch) service. Check it out below:

Simple solution

The simplest and quickest (but not 100% foolproof) way to protect your device data revolves around two practical steps, but you should be running iOS 11.4.1 or higher.

Opo Optional ?USB Accessories? on iOS 11.4.1 or higher | Credit: Placeit

The first is to change your password to the most complex code you can imagine using a strong alphanumeric password with upper and lower case characters, numbers and symbols.

Comes Face / Touch ID and Code Settings Change Code. Enter your current code, and when the option to enter the new one appears, tap Code Options. Then choose ?Custom Alphanumeric Code? and create your strong (but still memorable) password.

Then also within Touch / Face ID and Code Settings, locate the "USB Accessories" option in the "Allow access when locked" area. Make sure this option is disabled She is already inactive by default, but it is always good to make sure that you have not made the change at some other time and have forgotten her.

As explained in this article, the tool (designed to curb the action of unlocking boxes such as GrayKey) blocks any communication from USB devices to your device after an hour of inactivity; You must enter your password for the initial connection protocols to be established. That is, it will be basically impossible for malicious individuals to use tools to crack your password by brute force methods.

The method is not 100% effective because, well, there are other ways for someone to figure out your passphrase is that a security camera caught you unlocking the iPhone with it, for example, or someone peeked over your shoulder. Still, a solution that can be adopted by those who are sure they will not pass the personal code to third parties in any way.

Radical solution

There is also a more radical and secure way to ensure the integrity of your data. How? Simply backing up everything and erasing the device information is also valid for the moment when you will pass your device on (whether it's a sale or a donation).

Resetting the iPhoneResetting the iPhone | Credit: Placeit

First, you must do backup of all your data. This can be done on iCloud itself or by transferring the files, photos and other items of interest to an external device such as a Mac or PC get ready to take out the cobwebs from iTunes to complete the process if you want something more automated. . Remember to ensure that everything is properly saved as your device will be completely reset (ie have the data fully erased and return to its initial state as it came out of the box).

Activation Lock

Then you need to disable the Activation Lock. For newbies, this is a Search My iPhone tool that prevents your device from activating with another iCloud account without authenticating the original account. To do this, you must go in ICloud Settings Search My iPhone and turn off the feature. A system window prompts you for your Apple ID password; enter it and the device is unprotected by the tool (don't lose it now!).

Finally, simply reset the device data and settings completely. To do this, just go to Settings General Reset and select the option ?Delete Contents and Adjustments?. The device asks for your password if it exists and starts the self-destruct process; in a few minutes he would rise from the ashes like a newborn, totally unmemorable.

This gives you the confidence that when you give it to someone else for repair or after a sale / donation, you will not be able to wallow in the data saved there (after all, there is none) or even have access to your data. iCloud (At this time, the device is completely disconnected from your account).

Then if the device comes back from repair or you get a new one, just pull the backup and get your digital life back.

· ? ·

No need to thank. ?

tip of George Porto

Rate this post