It seems like yesterday, but it's been almost two years since WhatsApp started releasing the feature that allows users delete a message after sending. The feature was quickly embraced by its hundreds of millions of users around the world, and today the easiest thing in the world to open a conversation to come up with the warning: ?This message has been deleted?.
Just one thing: not all messages exchanged in WhatsApp are the same. Text-only messages are smooth; they disappear immediately when you choose to delete them. When we are talking about messages with photos or embedded videoshowever the other story especially if you (or your contact) has enabled the option to automatically save these media to the Camera Roll.
The researcher Shitesh Sachan, in a study published by Hacker News, proved something that some of you may already have noticed: WhatsApp on iOS does not erase the media saved to the Camera Roll on your device if the sender deletes the message corresponding to it. This, the photo or video cannot be viewed in the conversation itself, but remains saved in your iPhone gallery.
The logic does not apply to Android: on the green robot system, WhatsApp delete fully the media associated with a deleted message, deleting it from the device gallery in question if the user has the auto save option enabled.
When consulted, the WhatsApp development team says they are aware of this behavior and explain that it is not a failure and the messenger is only responsible for the text messages and content stored within its platform, so externally saved media will not necessarily be deleted by it.
Another explanation for the disparity in behavior is in the operating differences of iOS and Android. Google's system allows (with the user's permission, of course), that the messenger has root access to the system and deletes files in domains that are not his own. On iOS, on the other hand, this much more tortuous process; By default, when a photo or video is saved to the iPhone Camera Roll, WhatsApp has no "jurisdiction" to go into that area and erase that content, so to speak.
Still, as Sachan points out, WhatsApp should make this information clearer. Most users, by selecting the ?Delete for All? option, may have the impression that their shared content will be promptly deleted on their contact's device (or their contacts in the case of a group); As we have seen, this is not exactly the case on certain occasions.
That is, the reminder is: if you send that photo, say, saidinha to the wrong person, delete it immediately but try to make them (or him) use Android.
via The Next Web