Instagram launched last Wednesday (2) a feature to protect users from unwanted interactions. Available for iPhone (iOS) and Android phones, the "Restrict" function limits the viewing of comments and direct messages from people who insist on leaving derogatory messages. With the news, Instagram hopes to help combat social bullying and prevent online conflict.
READ: Instagram lana new app to beat biggest rival; Look
THE TechTudo prepared a list of seven questions and answers related to Instagram's new function to clarify the main doubts of users. How to restrict any? Does the person know that was restricted? Who is restricted to see my photos and stories? Get a better understanding of Instagram's newly launched feature.
Restrict on Instagram: Seven Questions and Answers About the New Feature Photo: Ana Letcia Loubak / TechTudo
Want to buy a cell phone, TV and other discounted products? Meet the Compare TechTudo
1. How to restrict any?
Restrict uncomfortable Instagram profiles Photo: Reproduction / Ana Letcia Loubak
The quickest way to restrict someone on Instagram is by dragging the unwanted comment to the left. Another option is to go directly to the user profile in question, tap on the three vertical dots in the upper right corner and select "Restrict". There is also the possibility to add restricted accounts from the privacy settings. To do so, go to: Settings> Privacy> Restricted Accounts.
2. Can the person I restricted send me direct messages?
Restricted Instagram messages go to the "requests" box Photo: Reproduction / Ana Letcia Loubak
Yes. However, private messages will go directly to the request box, and Instagram will not send notifications alerting the arrival of the content. You will still be able to see the posts, but the restricted account will not be able to see when you read the scrapbook or know when you are online on Instagram.
3. Can you still comment on photos even restricted?
Example of restricted comment on Instagram Photo: Reproduo / Ana Letcia Loubak
Once you enable the Restrict feature, comments that a restricted person makes on your posts will be visible only to them. You can view the comment by tapping View Comment, then decide whether you want to approve it, delete it, or ignore it. Unless the content is approved, other people will not be able to see the message.
4. Can the restricted person see my stories?
Restricted people can still see usurio's stories on Instagram Photo: Reproduo / Ana Letcia Loubak
Yes. Restricting someone does not prevent them from viewing the stories posted on their profile. The restricted user is even listed in the viewing history.
5. Do the restricted person's posts appear in my feed?
Restricted profile posts remain visible in Instagram feed Photo: Reproduction / Ana Letcia Loubak
Yes. Recent photos of the restricted account appear in the feed normally, and you can like and comment on them. The restricted user will receive notifications about the interactions. He can also access your profile photos.
6. Does the person know that they have been restricted?
possible to restrict someone from their own Instagram profile Photo: Reproduction / Ana Letcia Loubak
No. The "Restrict" feature is designed to allow users to protect their account and prevent interaction with annoying people without anyone knowing about it. Those who are restricted will still be able to view Stories and profile photos, comment and send direct messages as normal.
7. What is the difference between blocking, silencing or restricting any?
Blocking and muting are other Instagram options to avoid annoying users. Photo: Playback / Ana Letcia Loubak
The account restricting function is more discreet than locking, a method that prevents any and all interactions with unwanted users on Instagram. If you block someone's profile, the person will not be able to view your posts and not even find your profile in the search. It is worth remembering that, contrary to the restriction, the feature is a two-way street: those who block also lose access to blocked user posts, which are not notified of the action by Instagram.
Less radical, the "Mute" feature is to stop seeing posts or stories from certain profiles, but keep following them, which avoids discomfort. Silenced people are still able to send direct messages and comments, and the account owner keeps receiving notifications about these activities. By restricting a profile, however, private messages go straight to the request box, and photo comments are hidden from other followers.
How to take hidden photo from Instagram? Ask questions on the TechTudo forum.
How to silence a contact on Instagram